

# Media Release

# Perpetual reveals Miles Franklin longlist, celebrating Australian voices in many forms

# 31 March 2015

As Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, Perpetual has today announced the 2015 longlist. The 10 authors in competition for the \$60,000 prize this year include three debut novelists – Suzanne McCourt, Omar Musa and Christine Piper.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is regarded as Australia's most prestigious literature prize and was established through the will of *My Brilliant Career* author, Miles Franklin. First awarded in 1957, the prize is awarded each year to the novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Author	Novel	Publisher	
Elizabeth Harrower	In Certain Circles	Text Publishing	
Sonya Hartnett	Golden Boys	Penguin Books Australia	
Sofie Laguna	The Eye of the Sheep	Allen & Unwin	
Joan London	The Golden Age	Random House Australia	
Suzanne McCourt	The Lost Child	Text Publishing	
Omar Musa	Here Come the Dogs	Penguin Books Australia	
Favel Parrett	When The Night Comes	Hachette Australia	
Christine Piper	After Darkness	Allen & Unwin	
Craig Sherborne	Tree Palace	Text Publishing	
Inga Simpson	Nest	Hachette Australia	

The 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian, Richard Neville, said this year's Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist includes some exceptional novels that explore the human condition from many original perspectives.

"From a contemporary rap symphony and a 1950s polio clinic love affair, to the suburban father too good to be true and the spiritual journey of an Antarctic supply ship, this year's Miles Franklin longlist showcases the extraordinary vitality and range of recent Australian fiction," he said.

Within this diversity, a common theme present throughout the longlisted novels is the complexity of families and the impact of family history on the present.

"Interestingly, a number of the novels are written from the child's perspective, with unravelling families, or families in tension, driving the narratives," Mr Neville said.

Mr Neville is joined on the judging panel by *The Australian* journalist and columnist, Murray Waldren, Sydney-based bookseller, Lindy Jones, biographer, book historian, publishing editor, and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro and Emeritus Professor, Susan Sheridan.

Perpetual's General Manager of Philanthropy, Andrew Thomas, congratulated the longlisted authors.

"It's a great achievement for each of the 10 authors to make it onto the 2015 longlist," Mr Thomas said.

"As well as celebrating talented writers, the Miles Franklin Literary Award showcases the benefits of philanthropy and the positive impact it has on Australian literature, authors and readers."

The Miles Franklin 2015 shortlist will be announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference at the State Library of Victoria on Monday 18 May 2015, following an oration by past Miles Franklin winner, Steven Carroll. The winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2015 will be revealed on 23 June 2015.

For further information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award, visit <a href="http://www.milesfranklin.com.au/">http://www.milesfranklin.com.au/</a>

#### <ENDS>

### For any enquiries on individual authors/novels please contact their publicist:

Publisher	Contact name	Email	Phone
Allen & Unwin	Louise Cornegé	louisec@allenandunwin.com	(02) 8425 0184
Hachette Australia	Anna Egelstaff	anna.egelstaff@hachette.com.au	(02) 8248 0837
Penguin Books Australia	Rhian Davies	rhian.davies@au.penguingroup.com	(03) 9811 2509
Random House Australia	Lucy Inglis	linglis@randomhouse.com.au	(02) 8923 9808
Text Publishing	Jane Novak	jane.novak@textpublishing.com.au	(03) 8610 4510

## For enquiries related to Perpetual or to request an interview with Andrew Thomas, General Manager of Philanthropy, Perpetual Private, or judge, Richard Neville, please contact:

Jarrah Aguera Honner Media 02 8248 3745 jarrah@honnermedia.com.au

#### About the Miles Franklin Literary Award

Perpetual is Trustee for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. The Award was established in 1954 by the estate of *My Brilliant Career* author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to celebrate the Australian character and creativity. It supports the betterment of Australian literature by each year recognising the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian Life in any of its phases. The 2014 winner of the prize was Evie Wyld for her novel *All the Birds, Singing.* 

Copyright Agency's Cultural Fund has been a proud supporter of the Miles Franklin Award since 2004, granting more than half a million dollars to this premier Australian literary prize.

#### www.milesfranklin.com.au

#### **About Perpetual Philanthropic Services**

Perpetual is one of Australia's largest managers and distributors of philanthropic funds with \$2.2 billion in funds under advice (as at 31 December 2014). Perpetual is trustee for more than 990 <u>charitable trusts and endowments</u> and provides individuals and families with advice on establishing charitable foundations and structured giving programs. Perpetual also assists charities and not-for-profit organisations with <u>investment advice and management</u>.

Perpetual's Philanthropic Services and advice are provided by Perpetual Trustee Company Limited (PTCo), ABN 42 000 001 007, AFSL 236643. This publication has been prepared by PTCo and contains information contributed by third parties. It contains general information only and is not intended to provide advice or take into account personal objectives, financial situation or needs. The information is believed to be accurate at the time of compilation and is provided by PTCo in good faith. To the extent permitted by law, no liability is accepted for any loss or damage as a result of any reliance on this information. PTCo does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information included in this document which was contributed by a third party.